Where have I gone?

Hi friends!

Just wanted to share briefly where I’ve gone and why I decided to stop blogging for a while. My original purpose was good, I think, and the true desire of my heart was discipleship. It was a way to share what I was learning and hope to begin conversations that would happen one on one…intimate, question and response, and full of lots of eye contact.

Unfortunately, I got more of a crowd response. Everyone and no one. Saying a lot but not doing very much. I’d rather be a doer.

With or without us, the world keeps spinning. God remains in control. We continue to struggle between abusing ourselves and thinking far too much of the wisp of air that we are. This tension – this humanness – is becoming more of a friend to me than it’s been in the past.

It’s easy to think highly of yourself when you are talking about yourself. Sharing experiences is great, but blogging is void of the listening part of coffee conversations. I really enjoy the listening part. There was no dramatic revelation to this, no mystical happenstance, just the quiet decision to walk away from a time that was good for a season, but was turning bad for my insides.

Insides are always more important than outsides.

My life is suddenly busy here, suddenly full. There’s life growing where there was none. A lot of it is because I’ve stopped flailing and just looked around.

The goodness.
The beauty.
The decency.
The trust.
The mutual respect.
The opportunity.

Life is good. And even when it’s not, it’s still good. I hope life has been good to you too, and I hope we can have coffee shop conversations during which I can hear YOUR story, why YOU have become the person you are, and how YOU plan to get where you’re going.

Thank you so much.

Love to you, and see you soon :)

Jess

2 Comments

Filed under Writings

2 responses to “Where have I gone?

  1. Proud of you, friend. Coffee conversations with you have always been so very refreshing and life-giving. Thank you for being true to what God is doing in your life. I believe in you and the direction that you and August are going.

  2. jer

    Welcome back! :)

Leave a Reply

